MEET OUR GRADUATES

The World Bank reports that 72% of the population of Nicaragua does not graduate high school. When our children first entered the program, most were not in school, had a difficult situation at home, and like many children in Nicaragua they were malnourished similar to many children in Nicaragua.  With the help of Sponsors, 71% of our children have “graduated” from our program and broken the cycle.  They now have the skills to become self-sufficient with college degrees or vocational skills like construction, maintenance, and cosmetology.

Our nine graduates are all the first in their family to graduate high school.  Unlike the United States, not all children have the opportunity to go to college. Each student must pass a college entrance exam that also determines the field of study to even be able to attend college.  To date, EA has had three students that have graduated college!  We are so proud of our graduates and are excited to watch all of our children continue to excel, as they have broken the cycle.

 

COLLEGE GRADUATES

CHILO

My name is Chilo.  I was born on September 5, 1995.  I have a twin sister, Ivania, who is also in the program at El Ayudante.  We live together in our own house.  My favorite food is pizza and my favorite color is yellow.  I love dogs and singing, sometimes I even sing at my church.  When I have time, I like to play kickball and dance.  I have graduated college in 2020 with a Nursing degree in Infants.  I have just completed my practicum at a hospital, and have received my nursing license.  I am now looking for a full-time job.

JENNY

My name is Jenny.  I was born on February 10, 1995.  I live in my own house with my cat, “Copito de nieve” (Snowflake).  My favorite color is red and my favorite animal is a dolphin.  I love to eat gallo pinto, queso, and avocado.  I graduated college with a Nursing Degree in Child’s Health in 2019, and am now working full-time at La Fraternidad Hospital, in Leon.  When I have spare time, I like to dance or play soccer

IVANIA

My name is Ivania.  I was born on September 5, 1995.  I have a twin sister, Chilo, who is also in the program at El Ayudante.  We live together in our own house.  My favorite food is carne asada and my favorite color is red.  My favorite animal is a dog because I feel it is the best friend a person can have.  I love to play kickball and volleyball.  I graduated college in with a degree in accounting and finished my thesis in 2020.  I am currently looking for a job.  For now, on weekends, I sell nicatamales .  When I have free time, I like to spend time it with the kids at EA, and my church where I teach Sunday School.

OUR HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATES

ANDREA

My name is Andrea. I was born on October 22, 1999. I live with my sister and my niece Briana. My favorite color is purple, I like cats and I have a kitten at home called Minina. My favorite foods are hamburger, chicken and pizza. I like to spend time by myself. I graduated high school in 2018, and am currently in my second year at the university in Leon.  My goal is to graduate with my Bachelor of Science in Education with a minor in Natural Science.

CELESTE

My name is Celeste and my birthday is November 20, 2001. I live with my grandmother and my sisters. I love to sing and dance. My favorite color is green, and I love to eat chicken. My favorite animal is a dog and my favorite activity is watching baseball or soccer.

Graduating high school has represented a great success in my life. A success that I would not have been able to achieve without the support of everyone. I thank God that he put wonderful people who have walked beside me and with me on this journey. I look back on this journey of perseverance and see the support that you have given me. It fills my soul with happiness that I can continue my studies at the university to become a medical lab technician. Thank you so much for everything. I love you so much, Blessings.

SPONSOR ME

FERNANDO

My name is Fernando and my birthday is February 6, 2001. I live with my Mom and I have three brothers. I love all colors and my favorite animal is a lion. I love to eat churrasco, play sports, and spend time with my friends. My favorite sports are soccer, baseball, and volleyball. My favorite subject is English, and I like to joke around a lot.

This is another step in my life and a new beginning. I have completed high school and am now going to the university. For this achievement and progress, I give thanks to all the people who have supported me. Thanks to the unconditional support from my sponsors and the trust they place in me so that I can continue my education at the University studying to earn my degree as an Electronics / Computer Technician.

SPONSOR ME

KEVIN

My name is Kevin.  I was born on May 5, 1998.  I was the first at El Ayudante to complete high school.  I earned by degree in 2014.  I live my wife and we have a son named Matias Alexander Morales who is 2 years old.  I currently work at the León Main Bus Station with a tricycle taxi pedicab, providing transportation for people so that I can provide for my family’s needs.  My favorite color is black, and I love all kinds of food.  I enjoy listening to music and playing with my son in my spare time. 

VALERIA

My name is Valeria.   I was born on May 5, 2003. I live with my mother, my stepfather, my brother and sister Winkler and Valeska; who are also in the El Ayudante program. Some of my favorite things are the color purple, rabbits, dolphins, and eating Nacatamal (traditional Nicaraguan food). My favorite activities include playing kickball and watching Barcelona play soccer. I also like spending time with my friends. Now that I’m grown up I want to study Accounting.

SPONSOR ME

WINKLER

My name is Winkler.  I was born on April 19, 2002. I have two sisters Valeria and Valeska and they are also in the program of El Ayudante. I have two dads, my dad who I grew up with and my biological dad. Currently I live with my biological dad and my older brothers. My favorite color is red, my favorite food is pizza, and my favorite animal is the Lion. For fun I enjoy watching my favorite team Barcelona play soccer.   I graduated high school in 2018, and am currently working full time in my small barbershop business.  I hope to resume my professional studies on the weekend to earn a technical degree because I like that type of work.

El Ayudante is a Christian humanitarian organization based in León, Nicaragua, dedicated to partnering with the Nicaraguan people to transform the nation: One child, One family, One community at a time. Our teachers and staff care for 34 children and their families through our Nicaraguan Christian Home known as the HCN. We work daily with each child and their family to provide, housing, education, nutritious meals, medical care, and spiritual nurturing

When our children first entered the program, most were not in school and were malnourished.  With the help of Sponsors several of our children have “graduated” from our program and now have the skills to become self-sufficient with vocational skills like construction / maintenance and cosmetology, or college degrees. Two have recently graduated with nursing degrees and another in accounting.  We also have one child in college and three children that graduated high school in Dec 2020.

SPONSOR A CHILD